hukeron.blogg.se

Banktivity 7
Banktivity 7






  1. #BANKTIVITY 7 PLUS#
  2. #BANKTIVITY 7 ZIP#
  3. #BANKTIVITY 7 MAC#
  4. #BANKTIVITY 7 WINDOWS#

I later confirmed with Banktivity that they don’t support using cloud file sync tools for live Banktivity documents, which is nice to know now. When I extracted it, macOS recognized the bundle flag and displayed only a single document icon, which then opened properly in Banktivity.

#BANKTIVITY 7 ZIP#

In the OneDrive web client, I selected the folder and clicked “download.” Since OneDrive knew I was asking for multiple folders in a single download, it bundled them into a zip file, which I downloaded. The fix turned out to be pretty simple (but honestly I’m lucky it worked). Since the OneDrive web viewer correctly shows the directory structure, my money is on the OneDrive sync mechanism having some kind of bad interaction with macOS Monterey. (“ Document package” is apparently the current preferred term for this mechanism but because I’m old-school, I’ll keep calling them “bundles.”)Īs many macOS applications do, Banktivity uses a bundle instead of a flat file.Īt some point, somehow, either macOS or OneDrive had lost the flag indicating that this directory should be a bundle. A file bundle looks like a file (it’s one icon on the desktop, its components are moved, copied, or deleted as a unit, etc), but it’s really a directory tree. When they switched to the file system used in NeXTSTEP, that mutated into the concept of a file bundle. See, when Apple introduced macOS way back when, the file system natively supported having two “forks” (what we’d now refer to as “streams”) in a file: the resource fork and the data fork. That’s not a great sign either… but at least now I knew what was going on.

banktivity 7

“I’ve got a backup in OneDrive.” So I went to look in the OneDrive web client, where I saw this… Of course, the file shouldn’t be zero bytes. In that process, I saw this horrifying sight: Tim, my support rep, ran me through a couple of tests to see if we could figure out what might be wrong. One of the things I appreciate about IGG, makers of the app, is that they have really good live chat-based support. When that didn’t work, I reached out to Banktivity support. I verified that the file was present in my local OneDrive folder and tried opening it again, with the same result.

#BANKTIVITY 7 PLUS#

On the plus side, Banktivity opened the file on the minus side, it appeared to be empty. A blank budget? That’s worse than no budget at all I used File > Open Recent, picked my Banktivity file, and saw… this. Interestingly, the dialog didn’t offer to let me open a previous file (this appears to be a bug, btw). Instead of its normal behavior of opening the last-accessed file, I got a dialog asking me if I wanted to create a new file… never a good sign. This morning, I tried to open Banktivity. This seemed to go flawlessly and, as far as I could tell, all my OneDrive data was present.

#BANKTIVITY 7 MAC#

I can’t remember any time when I ever lost data from it, and as Microsoft has added better support for version history and better sync robustness, there have been any number of times where a buggy app or stupidity on my part would have caused data loss if not for the ability to snatch a file back from the jaws of death.Įarlier this week, I upgraded my Mac mini to macOS Monterey.

#BANKTIVITY 7 WINDOWS#

OneDrive has been unfailingly reliable for me since before it was called Windows Live Mesh. Life was good.Īs I do with all my other important documents, I stored the Banktivity data in a folder in my personal OneDrive.

banktivity 7 banktivity 7

I set it up to ingest my key banking and credit card accounts, let it gather some data, and started sketching out a budget. I used to use Quicken back in the day, but in an attempt to avoid anything having to do with Intuit, I decided to find an alternate app and quickly settled on Banktivity after seeing it mentioned on Daring Fireball. Just like my reaction when people say “yeah, I know, I should exercise but…” and I’m all like BUT EXERCISE IS THE GREATEST WHY WOULDN’T YOU JUST… that’s me with budgeting.) (brief editorial interruption: yes, I know, I know. In a recent spasm of optimism, I decided to start keeping, and sticking to, a budget.








Banktivity 7